Tags

, , , , , ,

So last week I began my exploration for some new recipes. I began the week going through a few of my Jamie Oliver magazines that have been collecting dust at the back of my wardrobe.

I found three recipes that I’d like to try:

  • Veggie Korma & Mock Cauliflower Pilau
  • Harvest Salad
  • Wild Rice with Roasted Beetroot

So I went out on Monday after work to find these ingredients. Unfortunately this wasn’t as easy as it proved as I had to go to three different shops to find end up not even finding all of the ingredients I needed!

The first (and probably my favourite so far) was the veggie Korma and the mock pilau! I honestly havent stopped talking about this recipe since I made it and

I cant stop raving about the rice.

Rice can be pretty boring – and to be honest with you I still am pretty awful at cooking  rice and can never seem to get it right. Also rice still has carbohydrates and sugars so not ideal for dieters. This fantastic recipe replaces rice with cauliflower. Yes. Cauliflower!

Unfortunately I haven’t got pictures of this yet as I hadnt planned to write this blog at the time but here’s a picture of Jamie’s version.

85fe1e25-3673-4b08-83d7-dbbc9ddce95b

The flavours were just delicious and I wouldnt change them one bit. I didn’t try sprinkling the feta cheese that’s suggested at the end – maybe next time.

Tips to remember for next time

  • cut the sweet potato smaller and cook for less time at the start so they cook slower once in the curry sauce.
  • Add the Cauliflower leaves and stem earlier so that they arent so crunch (as everything else was already perfectly cooked and any longer would have over done it)
  • soak the curry leaves before using them as they were a bit chewy in the curry if you ended up eating one.
  • could go heavier with the chilli and lemon flavours
  • MORE RICE!

My favourite part of this recipe (minus the brilliant rice) was that J.O suggests that you don’t waste the leaves and stem of the cauliflower but rather to put them into the curry to add to the flavour. I thought this was a fantastic idea,

I want to find more vegetables I can do this with to make the most out of my veg!

All in all I really enjoyed making and eating this recipe and had a lovely evening with my mum – well she had a relaxing bath and enjoyed being cooked for and I enjoyed having the kitchen to myself!!

Now for the recipe! – courtesy of Mr Oliver himself

  • 1 heaped tbsp Flaked almonds (I left these out)
  • 2 large sweet potatoes (I used one orange and one white – would probably be better with 2 orange)
  • Olive oil – I replaced this with coconut oil as this has less fat in it and it actually helps you burn fats by speeding up your metabolism
  • 1 red onion finely sliced
  • 2 garlic cloves finely chopped
  • 1 thumb sized piece of ginger finely chopped
  • 1/2 a bunch of fresh coriander finely chopped
  • 1/2-1 red chilli (I did half and next time i will do a whole one DESEEDED)
  • A handful of curry leaves
  • 1 heaped tbsp Korma curry paste
  • 1x400g tin of chickpeas
  • 1 large cauliflower
  • 1/2-1 lemon
  • 50g feta cheese (I didnt use this but next time I will try it with the feta)
  • 4 tbsp fat-free natural yoghurt

1. Start toasting the almonds in a large pan until golden. Then set aside. scrub sweet pots and cut into 4cm chunks and put into a pan on medium heat with the oil. Fry until golden. Add the curry leaves to the pan for 1 minute then add all the sliced veg (onion, garlic ginger, chilli, coriander) and the curry paste and cook for 5-10 mintues (until the onions have softened) Add the Chickpeas with juice and 600ml of boiling water. Bring everything to the boil and then simmer for 30 mins/until thickened.

2. Meanwhile chop off the cauliflower leaves and the stalk – finely slice and add both to the curry. cut the florets into even chunks and pulse in a food blender until the texture of rice. tip into a microwave dish and cover until ready to cook. Just before serving cook in the microwave for 5 minutes.

3. Add lemon juice to the curry and season well. (here is where you crumble over the feta if you are using it) Dollop over the yoghurt and stir through the curry for a korma creaminess. finally sprinkle with some extra coriander leaves and the toasted almonds. serve on the rice!  

ENJOY! Happy Chomping 😀

