Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Just another quick recipe for today because I made it as an addition to last nights dinner and I think it’s a genius idea.

I found this fabulous recipe from another blog I would recommend – The Ascension Kitchen. This was something else I found whilst ‘procrastinating’ from picking up my biology books! Like I mentioned… old habits die hard.

I am determined to reprogram this particular habit.

I have recently been reading a book called The Power of Habit. I have only got about 30 pages in but so far I have found it really interesting. It has a really simplistic way of explaining very complex brain structures. It explains the integral human ability to alter a habit through adjusting the subconscious actions our brain engages in. I really recommend this book to anyone that is interested.

the power of habit

Anyway the Celeriac Chips – sorry I went a little off the point!

These are a simple, tasty, FANTASTIC alternative to chips or potato wedges.

They have more flavour than potato, they are full of more nutrients than potato and they are cooked in coconut oil too as a bonus! 

Before last night I have to admit I had never cooked and probably never consciously eaten celeriac – I couldn’t have told you what it tastes like. I feel like this is similar to many peoples relationship with the unattractive vegetable celeriac.

celeriac

After a little bit of research into the nutritional benefits of celeriac I have discovered the main quality of a celeriac above other root vegetables is its extremely low calorie content.

It is less starchy than potatoes for example, so a great way to cut down on the carb intake. A half-cup serving of cooked celeriac contains less than 20 calories.

But this low calorie intake doesn’t compromise any of the other nutrients as its bursting with potassium, iron, vitamin C and full of fibre. Fibre aids regular bowel movements (doing a poop) and also the absorption of nutrients (which is great for a healthy gut!).

Low in Saturated Fat and Cholesterol. BUT High in Vitamin C, Vitamin K, Phosphorus, Potassium, Dietary Fiber, Vitamin B6, Magnesium

So all in all – a fantastic alternative to potato chips!

This recipe simply involved peeling off the exterior. cutting up into chunky chips. tossing with coconut oil, salt, thyme and tarragon and popping into the oven until golden! EASY PEASY!

IMG_4172

The Ascension Kitchen recipe also has the fantastic side of tartar sauce. Not just any tartar sauce – a raw tartar sauce made predominately from macadamia nuts rather than mayonnaise. clever.

I didn’t have the white miso or the garlic powder but just substituted this for a crushed clove of garlic and I don’t think I was missing any flavours. It tastes great and Ive been using the leftovers as a side to my salad for lunch today. Also very simple to make and full of lovely protein to keep you fuller for longer!

IMG_4169

Hope you have as much fun trying this one out as I did, I really think it’s a recipe worth trying, it is so beautifully simple and a great little party trick.

Celeriac Chips with Raw Tartare Sauce (from The Ascension Kitchen)

1 Celeriac
Coconut oil
Fresh thyme
Fresh tarragon
Sea salt

  • Use a knife to peel the ugly exterior of the celeriac off
  • Chop him into thick chips
  • Toss with coconut oil
  • Spread out on a baking tray lined with baking paper
  • Scatter a liberal amount of sea salt and freshly chopped thyme and tarragon over the top
  • Bake at 190˚ for 35 minutes or till golden

Tartar Sauce

1 cup macadamia nuts, soaked
½ cup water
2 teaspoons white miso
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
2 tablespoons lemon juice
Zest of one lemon
¼ teaspoon flaky sea salt
¼ teaspoon pepper
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
2 teaspoons chopped shallots
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon fresh dill, chopped
1 tablespoon capers

  • Blend everything except the fresh dill and capers till creamy
  • Add the dill and give a quick blend
  • Pour into a small bowl, add the capers and mix

HAPPY CHOMPING!

