Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

photo 2

So as I sit here and try to pick up the metaphorical pen I am a bit bewildered with where to start and what to write. What would I want to read?

What could I write about… love? sadness? Sickness? Health?

No, for me the last year hasn’t been significantly about anything, aside from being about me.

It’s been a lot of internal conversations (yes speaking to myself) and self acknowledgement and interpretation (or attempting to interpret anyway), so much so I am even now second guessing why I am even writing this blog? Is it for me? Or is it to gain and recognition of my self worth from you?

Deep stuff I know 😉

But in all seriousness this year has been one that has taught me how to be alone and how to enjoy it. I have reached the uncomfortable or unsettling feeling of feeling like ‘I should’ be doing something or seeing someone, and I have managed to be comfortable with not doing what I feel I should be, and rather doing what I really want to be doing.

This is a year I have put myself first. And it has been good. I’m quite fun to be around really 🙂

3824406_f5201

Foodie habits have become a bit more relaxed since moving in with friends. But the positives massively outweigh the negatives.

We have a very liberal way of living and sharing everything and anything in the cupboards. As great as this sounds… If I get home late and someone has made a deliciously cheesey pasta bake and its sat steaming on the table, and my choice is to cook up some broccoli, kale and quinoa or just have a spoonful… I think you can guess what wins every time.

However, my motto is start how you mean to go on (even if it doesn’t go on)

SO I always feel fantastic and set for the day if I begin with a breakfast for champions. A breakfast that helps me meet every nutritional need I could reach throughout the entire day.

So what does a nutritionist eat for breakfast?

  • A green ginger juice with barley grass,
  • Walnuts, brazil nuts
  • Avocado and eggs on rye bread

And a new alternative is this fabulous recipe for a seedy homemade porridgey cereal thingy.

I love it and it’s so easy, I would recommend this to everyone.

I found it nicest combined with home made almond milk – if you make from dry in the morning and replace the water with almond milk – it makes it much more creamy! (see link here for the soaking over night option)

Seriously Super Cereal

Makes 18-19,  1/4 cup / 50g portions

photo (3)Ingredients:
1 cup / 170g buckwheat
1 cup / 200g millet
1 cup quinoa / 170g
1 cup amaranth / 190g
½ cup / 70g sunflower seeds
¼ cup / 40g chia seeds

Directions:
1. Place all ingredients in a large glass or ceramic container (this fits a 2-quart / 2-L jar). Stir to combine. Seal tightly and store in a cool, dark place for up to three months.

For un-soaked cereal:

  1. ¼ cup / 50g  Seriously Super Cereal blend
  2. 1 cup / 250ml water (I used homemade almond milk)
  3. 1 date + handful of cranberries/raisins
  4. ½ a banana (optional)

cook 20 minutes

Directions:

1. Rinse porridge mix well in a very fine mesh sieve.
2. Place in a small saucepan with 1 cup / 250ml water, bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer, covered, for about 20 minutes, until the grains are tender.

photo 1

It will look all cloudy – a bit like this!

3. Enjoy warm with milk and sweetener of your choice, fresh fruit, spices, and superfoods.

photo 3

look at all that tasty goodness!

HAPPY CHOMPING!

