Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

We’re all F.I.N.E (and delicious homemade spelt bread!)

photo (4) copy

It’s taken me a while to sit down and start writing this again. I’m not really too sure why. I’ve had lots of brilliance buzzing about in my brain and plenty of recipes to share, but haven’t had the will power to sit myself down and write.

I have let my procrastinator take over and delegate, instead of driving myself towards something I want to achieve.

Sometimes in the great tide of life, the end picture is forgotten or just temporarily hidden. It’s like you know where you would like to end up, but get a little lost, maybe even walk round in circles and take a few timeouts, before you can actually end up there.

I feel like I need to take a step back and look at the bigger goals, the driving forces that will give me that will power to push through, do well, stick to my goals and succeed.

So what are those goals? Where do I see myself in a year, 3 years or 10 years time? What is going to drive me to get up in the morning?

Good question.

Questions and Answers signpost

Often, asking one questions opens up a whole can of worms for a million more. And none of them have answers. Not yet. And I’m sure the answers will just come with time.

I suppose are the answers really necessary? Or does the journey we go on just involve an element of uncertainty and faith?

I think this is the key but I think that is what we as humans find so hard to do. Have blind faith. That’s part of the problem I find with religion, having blind, unquestioning faith. I like to have more of an idea about the future and this comes with detriment to the present. I need to live more in the here and now, in the moment I am greeted with in the morning, rather than the fear about what will happen in the afternoon.

This is all a bit philosophical isn’t it… I’ll summarise…

  1. I procrastinate too much.
  2. I don’t know where I am going
  3. It doesn’t matter – live in the present
  4. I am F.I.N.E

At the end of the day, ‘everything will be alright in the end, if it’s not alright then its not the end’.

So I am F.I.N.E.

images

(fucked-up, insecure, neurotic, emotional)

And really I think are all twenty-somethings are F.I.N.E. so I am going to be just fine.

In the meantime, I had some spare time on my hands with weekend (whilst I was procrastinating) so I did something brave and very grown up, I baked my first loaf of bread.

Not just any bread, spelt bread. And filled with omega seed mix and made with coconut oil!

It was such a great feat for me. I think whenever I get overwhelmed now, baking bread will be the answer. There is a real satisfaction to smelling the sweet sweet smell of fresh bakery coming from your own kitchen and from your own creation. It gave me a sense of pride and accomplishment so even though I failed to complete any other tasks this weekend, it’s all ok because I baked bread.

Try it sometime.

Here is the recipe (Courtesy of Doves Farm):

INGREDIENTS

  • 500 g White Spelt Flour or Wholemeal Spelt FlourIMG_8585
  • ½ tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Quick Yeast
  • 1 tsp Sugar
  • 300 ml Warm Water
  • 1 tbsp Vegetable Oil (I used coconut oil)
  • 1 handful of Omega seed mix (optional extra!)

METHOD

  • In a large bowl mix together the flour, salt, quick yeast and sugar.
  • Carefully measure the water and roughly mix it into the flour.
  • Melt 1tbsp of coconut oil
  • Add the omega seed mix
  • While the dough is still claggy add the oil and knead well until it feels smooth and pliable.

IMG_8588

  • Leave the dough in a bowl covered with a cloth, in a draught free place, to double in size (about an hour). To make a quick bread omit this stage and proceed straight to next step.

IMG_8589

  • Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and knead the dough firmly for several minutes.
  • Shape the dough and put it into an oiled 1kg/2lb bread tin or place it on an oiled baking sheet.

IMG_8590

  • Cover and leave dough to rise for about 25 minutes in a warm place.
  • Bake in a preheated oven for 35/40 minutes.
  • If you want to preserve it for longer – slice and freeze so you can use every morning for breakfast!

Temperature & cooking time:

220°C/Fan200°C/425°F/Gas 7 for 35/40 minutes

IMG_8591



HAPPY CHOMPING!






